Image by Denise Massa Note from the Editors


This publication, now in its fourteenth year, would not be possible without the exceptional talents of the faculty who nominated their students' work for publication. Professors whose students' work appears in this volume include: Sarah Baechle, Elizabeth Capdevielle, John Duffy, Elizabeth Evans, Richard Fahey, Deborah Forteza, Tyler Gardner, Vittorio Hosle, Ed Kelly, Erin McLaughlin, Katie Osborn, and Nicole Winsor.

Special thanks to members of the editorial board, a team of volunteers who devoted portions of their winter break, office hours, and weekends to the task of choosing a few essays from more than 100 submissions. Editorial board volunteers for this volume: Elizabeth Capdevielle, Matthew Capdevielle, Patrick Clauss, Elizabeth Evans, Tyler Gardner, and Katie Osborn.

Thanks to University Writing Program Director John Duffy for his unwavering support of the publication and its transition to the new format.

Thanks to staff assistant Laurie Mastic for her assistance in coordinating and taking contributor photographs for this volume.

Thanks to Denise Massa for designing the banner for the current volume.

Finally, my ongoing thanks to members of the web development team in Hesburgh Library, who continue to devote hours of technical and design expertise to sustain the publication, now in its second year in a web-based format. The development and design team included: Laurie McGowan, Jonathan Hartzler, Jaron Kennel, Andy Wetherill, and Robert Fox.

I am deeply grateful for colleagues across the university who continue to support writing excellence here at Notre Dame. Thank you for your efforts, and for your support of Fresh Writing.


Erin McLaughlin, editor